Blog & News

Medallion Awards Making a Difference

Medallion Awards Making a Difference

Sam Varn of Awards4U established the Medallion Awards Program in 1987 to recognize dedicated high school students. This program is a great way for teachers to show appreciation for their students’ hard work and perseverance. Teachers nominate students who they believe have gone that extra mile. This program isn’t about recognizing the student with the highest grades; it’s about recognizing those students who go above and beyond in the classroom and in life. This could be something as simple as recognizing a student who showed improvement in a class, or a student who excelled in a specific subject. Up to 100 students per high school receive Medallion Awards each year, and since the program was first established, over 10,000 students have been recognized. This program gives those students who normally go unnoticed a chance to be celebrated for their accomplishments.

A few Awards4U staff members were lucky enough to attend the ceremony at Rickards High School. It is so touching to see the personal relationships that have developed between the teachers and their students.

Richard Mark Brooks receiving award

Dr. Michelle Gayle, the principal at Rickards, really believes in the Medallion Program.

“This is an event that we look forward to each year at James S. Rickards High School. It gives us the opportunity to recognize those scholars who work in and out of the classroom setting a positive image for themselves and for others.”

This year’s Medallion Awards were a huge success, and we wanted to take a moment to congratulate all the winners in Tallahassee.

From Rickards High School:

Justin Belk Richard  Brooks Lavette  Bryant
Romel Cesar Markeith Cromartie Shandrika Cuyler
Eilzabeth Davis Damian Farmer Michael Gallon
Treasure Glover Tydricka Guinnie Sarah Gurley
Tramayne Holmes Taquil Jenkins Carlos Johnson
Zemoria Johnso Michelle Lamm CartishaRobinson
Crystal Salter Mia Saunders Akilah Sweeting
Andrea Sweetman Alysia Williams Markel Winters

From Leon High School:

Parastoo “Paras” Sahar Azamin Alura Sianne Blake Trey Ryan Brinkley
Nzinga Makeda Dennard Shantisa E. Ferrell Jiaqui “Josh” Han
Joseph “Jay” Monroe Helton, III Alexandra “Alex” D. Holden Dylan Andrews Jackson
Benton Avery James Bria Shavon Knighton Eboni Renee Martin
Lance Marvin Orcutt Gabriel “Gabe” Humberto Perez Ryan Jacob Reynolds
Sarah Elizabeth Shahawy Anakarin “AK” Marela Smith Laurel Taylor
Vinson Dewayne Thomas Andrei Turrou Tillman Kyleshia Bryttani Walker
Tylisha Williams

From SAIL High School:

Joss Abaco Shamaria Carter Rebecca Davis
Jon Erickson-Cotton Emily Gardner James Hand-DeMaria
Steven Goodchild Jasmine “Lola” Jacobs Amina Kamau
Allison Kelly Chris Lancaster Mically LeClainche
Ayo Maynor Sandra Meuth Wesley Miller
Kendall Moret Carlie Nettles Julie Spath
Emily Terry Jaidyn Wiard Ashley Worley

From Lincoln High School:

Aaron (Justin) Adams Sylvana Alber Mohanad Ayyad
Daniel Bollone Kaci Boylan Sarah Campbell
Kasey Carter Amber Etheridge Jerion Fitz
Miesha Footman Taylor Freeman Justin Grant
Lucas Heiker Jarod Henderson Taylor (Caity) Hoard
Jasmyn Howard Jercari Jackson Chasiney Kilpatrick
Woo-Jin Kim Charles Lemoine Amy Looper
Savanna Lyle Connor Profitt Troy Rentz
Brandon Rosenthal Kyle Scarry Sawyer Schmookler
Austin Shaeffer Melissa Thomas Mary Beth Thompson
Jenna Walker Kaitlin Ward Amanda Wolfe

From Chiles High School:

Carolyn Arroyo Jessica Bouyer Josh Braswell
Amanda Campbell Lauren Claude Katherine Cox
T.J. Garnett Jason Griffin Justin Griffin
Hayley Hebrock Adi Hendlin Jasmine James
Katie Lamb Garrett Laycock Robert Martin
Lindsay Morrison Paul Palmer Reed Parker
Colin Perrier Micah Perry Rachel Procaccini
Monica Reznik Taylor Rhodes Mark Rumenik
Marilyn Sanabria Alex Schroepfer Samantha Shepherd
Arielannia Walker Taylor Williams Isham Zabala

From Godby High School:

Kyle Ash Javonte Barnes Jamel Batchelor
Jordon Blackwood Devontrez Boyd D’Quan Brigham
Justin Brooker Niccole Colvin Bryan Cooper
Arista Corral Faith Dickey Jamie Graham
Xue Hou Elizabeth Jackson Corneshia Jenkins
Chad Jones Troy Kemp Shelby Kendall
Symphoni Liburd Shinika Martin Allison Mathews
Marrio McGriff Devonte’ McIrvin Mandy Monahan
Brienna Morales Devonshay Norton Dharti Patel
Scotty Pham Jamaric Proctor Nehemiah Pye
Jakarri Thomas Jermaine Tolver Elise Valdez
Sara Villa Aliya Watson Jade Williams

Let's Hear What You Have to Say



Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *